## 1 HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES - FLOOR VERSION 2 STATE OF OKLAHOMA 3 1st Session of the 57th Legislature (2019) COMMITTEE SUBSTITUTE 4 FOR HOUSE BILL NO. 2366 5 By: Kannady 6 7 8 COMMITTEE SUBSTITUTE 9 An Act relating to courts; amending 20 O.S. 2011, Sections 1 and 2, which relate to the Supreme Court; 10 clarifying terms of office; modifying Supreme Court Judicial Districts; providing that current Justices retain office and are eligible for retention; 11 amending 20 O.S. 2011, Section 33, which relates to the Court of Criminal Appeals; modifying Court of 12 Criminal Appeals judicial districts; providing that 1.3 current Judges retain office and are eligible for retention; and providing an effective date. 14 15 16 BE IT ENACTED BY THE PEOPLE OF THE STATE OF OKLAHOMA: 17 SECTION 1. 20 O.S. 2011, Section 1, is AMENDATORY 18 amended to read as follows: 19 Section 1. The Supreme Court shall consist of nine (9) justices 20 Justices. Immediately upon the passage and approval of this act, 21 the Governor shall appoint by and with the advice and consent of the 22 Senate one Justice of the Supreme Court from each of the four 23 additional Supreme Court judicial districts hereby created, each of 24 whom shall serve until the second Monday in January, 1919, Each

- Justice in office on July 1, 2020, shall serve the term for which
  the Justice was appointed or retained in office by retention ballot
  and until his or her successor is elected appointed and qualified,
  unless the Justice vacates the office prior to the end of his or her
  term or is removed from office as provided by law. Any Justice in
  office on July 1, 2020, shall be eligible for retention in the same
  office for succeeding terms.
- 8 SECTION 2. AMENDATORY 20 O.S. 2011, Section 2, is 9 amended to read as follows:
- 10 Section 2. The Beginning July 1, 2020:
- 11 <u>1.</u> Supreme Court Judicial District No. 1 shall embrace and
  12 include the following counties: Ottawa, Craig, Nowata, Rogers,
  13 Washington, Osage, Pawnee, Kay and Grant. Congressional District No.
  14 2 as constituted on January 8, 2019;
  - The 2. Supreme Court Judicial District No. 2 shall embrace and include the following counties: LeFlore, Haskell, Pittsburg,

    Latimer, Pushmataha, McCurtain, Choctaw, Bryan, Marshall, Johnston,

    Atoka, McIntosh and Sequoyah. be an at-large district;
- The 3. Supreme Court Judicial District No. 3 shall embrace and include the following county: Oklahoma. Congressional District No. 21 5 as constituted on January 8, 2019;
- 22 The 4. Supreme Court Judicial District No. 4 shall embrace and
  23 include the following counties: Beckham, Dewey, Roger Mills, Ellis,
  24 Woodward, Woods, Major, Harper, Beaver, Texas, Cimarron, Alfalfa,

15

16

17

18

1	Garfield, Kingfisher, Blaine, Custer and Washita. Congressional
2	District No. 3 as constituted on January 8, 2019;
3	The <u>5.</u> Supreme Court Judicial District No. 5 shall embrace and
4	include the following counties: Cleveland, McClain, Garvin, Murray,
5	Carter, Love, Grady, Stephens and Jefferson. Congressional District
6	No. 4 as constituted on January 8, 2019;
7	The <u>6.</u> Supreme Court Judicial District No. 6 shall embrace and
8	include the following county: Tulsa. Congressional District No. 1
9	as constituted on January 8, 2019;
10	The 7. Supreme Court Judicial District No. 7 shall embrace and
11	include the following counties: Muskogee, Creek, Okmulgee, Wagoner,
12	Cherokee, Adair, Delaware and Mayes. be an at-large district;
13	The <u>8.</u> Supreme Court Judicial District No. 8 shall <del>embrace and</del>
14	include the following counties: Pottawatomie, Seminole, Hughes,
15	Pontotoc, Coal, Okfuskee, Lincoln, Logan, Payne and Noble. be an at-
16	<pre>large district; and</pre>
17	The <u>9.</u> Supreme Court Judicial District No. 9 shall <del>embrace and</del>
18	include the following counties: Kiowa, Jackson, Tillman, Harmon,
19	Cotton, Comanche, Caddo, Greer and Canadian be an at-large district.
20	SECTION 3. AMENDATORY 20 O.S. 2011, Section 33, is
21	amended to read as follows:
22	Section 33. A. The state is hereby divided into five (5) Court
23	of Criminal Appeals <del>judicial districts</del> <u>Judicial Districts</u> . From

each of said districts candidates for Judge of the Court of Criminal

Appeals shall be nominated and appointed in the manner provided by

Article VII-B of the Oklahoma Constitution. All Judges of the Court

of Criminal Appeals may seek retention in office pursuant to the

provisions of Section 2 of Article VII-B of the Oklahoma

5 Constitution and each Judge shall be voted for by the qualified 6 voters of the state at-large.

- B. Beginning July 1, 2020, the boundaries of the Court of

  Criminal Appeals Judicial Districts shall be the boundaries of the

  five Oklahoma Congressional Districts as constituted on January 8,

  2019, as follows:
- 11 1. The Court of Criminal Appeals Judicial District No. 1 shall
  12 embrace and include the following counties: Craig, Delaware, Mayes,
  13 Nowata, Ottawa, Rogers, Tulsa, and Wagoner. Congressional District
  14 No. 1;
  - 2. The Court of Criminal Appeals Judicial District No. 2 shall embrace and include the following counties: Adair, Cherokee, Cleveland, Creek, Kay, Lincoln, Logan, Muskogee, Noble, Okfuskee, Okmulgee, Osage, Pawnee, Payne, Pottawatomie, and Washington.
    Congressional District No. 3;
  - 3. The Court of Criminal Appeals Judicial District No. 3 shall embrace and include the following counties: Atoka, Bryan, Carter, Coal, Choctaw, Garvin, Grady, Haskell, Hughes, Jefferson, Johnston, Latimer, Leflore, Love, Marshall, McClain, McCurtain, McIntosh,

_	Harray, ricessurg, roncococ, rashmacana, seminore, sequoyan, and
2	Stephens. Congressional District No. 2;
3	4. The Court of Criminal Appeals Judicial District No. 4 shall
4	embrace and include the following counties: Canadian and Oklahoma.
5	Congressional District No. 5; and
6	5. The Court of Criminal Appeals Judicial District No. 5 shall
7	embrace and include <del>Alfalfa, Beaver, Beckham, Blaine, Caddo,</del>
8	Cimarron, Comanche, Cotton, Custer, Dewey, Ellis, Garfield, Grant,
9	Greer, Harmon, Harper, Jackson, Kingfisher, Kiowa, Major, Roger
10	Mills, Texas, Tillman, Washita, Woods, and Woodward Congressional
11	District No. 4.
12	C. Each Judge in office on July 1, 2020, shall serve the term
13	for which the Judge was appointed or retained in office by retention
14	ballot and until his or her successor is appointed and qualified,
15	unless the Judge vacates the office prior to the end of his or her
16	term or is removed from office as provided by law. Any Judge in
17	office on July 1, 2020, shall be eligible for retention in the same
18	office for succeeding terms.
19	SECTION 4. This act shall become effective January 1, 2020.
20	
21	COMMITTEE REPORT BY: COMMITTEE ON JUDICIARY, dated 02/20/2019 - DO
22	PASS, As Amended.
23	

24